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Digital Strategists Role In Revenue Operations

Digital Strategists Role In Revenue Operations

WizzWang your business with

Revenue On Demand

For Upstarts And Disruptives

The Digital Strategists Role in RevOps

Why do digital strategists exist?

You may be asking yourself why you need a digital strategist.

Effectively a digital strategist is responsible for navigating the path to success for your overall sales and marketing game plan.

It is the strategist’s job to take all of the available data and map out a plan for your business success based on where you are now and the resources and capital available to you.

They do this whilst reducing your risk and simplifying your path to success.

Digital strategists are your online revenue partner; their job is to help you make money online – however, that may transpire.

The best digital strategists will be capable generalists with a wide range of experience, generally with a depth of skill in some of the core disciplines required to do the job.

Ideally an end to end strategist will also have a data discipline such as analytics, big data, statistics or a background in heuristics such as project management or engineering .

A good strategist will be able to demonstrate a strong ability to analyse statistical data and the associated critical performance indicator data that ensure their strategies are on track to deliver the overall business results.

If you want to sell and generate revenues online effectively or if you are having problems scaling your online income, then you need a digital strategist, well ok you don’t need one but it is always good to have access to one.

Larger companies or agencies will often have specific roles for digital strategists – for example, Advertising Strategist, Automation Strategist etc.

In smaller companies, you will increasingly find senior digital, marketing and sales strategists in senior positions due to the increasing importance of being able to compete effectively online coupled with the need for data.

A Digital Strategists Value Proposition for RevOps


  • Reduce the risk of project failure by setting out a clear end to end plan 99% 99%
  • Reduces project costs and works to cut out unnecessary expenditure 85% 85%
  • Reduces amount of time and resources wasted on a project 95% 95%
  • Keeps the team focused on achieving the overall objective 95% 95%
  • Drives the highest possible return on your marketing and media spend 80% 80%
  • Communicates the goals, measurement and process clearly 95% 95%
  • Helps you implement scalable processes that deliver business results 95% 95%
  • Makes sure that measurement and KPI’s are defined 90% 90%
  • Helps you differentiate between you and your competitors 80% 80%
  • Co-ordinates your team, sets project goals and tracks progress 75% 75%
What do digital strategists do

Artificial intelligence can now do 50% of the tasks a digital team would have done just two years ago.

AI software can now create a multivariate test of all possible advertising campaign combinations in a matter of minutes for a small business.

Just 36 months ago this would have taken 2 or 3 weeks, even in a big company.

When you hire your strategist you benefit from access to all of the latest software tools and AI tools that they use in the day to day grind.

To subscribe to these tools would cost a chunk each month. They can cut hundreds of hours of wasted time and reduce your RevOps project cost, so make sure your strategist comes to the table fully tooled up with a suite of software tool wizardry.

Freelance Digital Strategist

A digital content strategist will help you define all of your content requirements to meet your goals and may help you define the creative brief.

A Digital Strategists Characteristics


  • Analytical Curiosity – The ability to see the big picture 95% 95%
  • Critical Thinking – The ability to see and resolve problems 95% 95%
  • Original ideas plus the capability to execute them 85% 85%
  • Leadership – The ability to mentor and lead a team to deliver the desired result 80% 80%
  • Consultative Approach – They listen and ask difficult questions 95% 95%

The skills strategists need to develop for RevOps

A well-rounded digital marketing strategist will need a solid understanding of offline and online marketing processes and how they all tie together and work as an integrated marketing platform.

If you are in a regulated industry such as pharmaceuticals, investments or banking for example your strategist will also need experience in that industry vertical and understand how the red tape and regulations drive responsible marketing.

Your strategist will also need overall business understanding to ensure that digital efforts deliver tangible and repeatable benefits for your business.

A digital strategist must be good with numbers and data; the best ones can see the patterns in the data that can positively impact your revenues.

Strong analytical skills, critical thinking and communication skills are also required.

The very best digital strategists can communicate everything clearly without using jargon.

An essential skill a marketing strategist needs to have is a good understanding of the strategies, techniques, playbooks, frameworks, funnels and game plans that are likely to work for your company.

Digital strategists will often be required to be certified in several CRM or automation platforms, cross-platform analytics and some advertising platforms if they work in an agency.

However, it is more important that a strategist has a good understanding of a wide range of platforms, their features and functions. By doing this, they can deploy the right end-to-end solution that delivers the goal.

A strategist needs to be technology agnostic and engineer the most elegant solution that works for the customer.

Although agency experience is a great plus, some agencies can be more focused on selling a strategy that pads out the client billing account with more services rather than delivering an elegant solution.

For this reason, many strategists prefer to work “client-side” helping the business owner or leadership teams as a consultant that works in their interest and interfaces with agencies as required.

Some of the best digital strategists we have ever worked with run their own small and large businesses and got their through constant trial and error.

What they all have in common is some area of in-depth experience and a lot of experience in both failure and success. And a love of testing.

What do Digital strategists do?

So apart from making money for people online, what do digital strategists do?

Digital strategists generally have a depth of experience in digital technologies, advertising media platforms and marketing.

They will also have a good understanding of data structure, statistical analysis, risk and budgeting.

They combine this with overall business understanding to ensure that digital efforts deliver tangible and repeatable benefits.

Digital strategists need a strong understanding of marketing communications processes and best practices: a natural curiosity and the ability to solve complex problems.

Find senior digital strategists in several roles, CMO, Digital Director, Digital Strategy Director, Agency Head and other all-encompassing types of revenue role such as CRO, RevOps or Head of Revenue.

Desired experience of a digital strategist

  • End to End Digital Strategy – Marketing, sales, people and culture, finance 95% 95%
  • E-Commerce Strategy – pricing, positioning, distribution, demand, payments 70% 70%
  • SEO Strategy – Content structure, links, page speed 70% 70%
  • Advertising & Campaign Strategy – Frameworks, creative, process, testing, scale 75% 75%
  • Content Strategy – On message, on brand, on target 95% 95%
  • Conversion Rate Optimisation – A/B testing, multivariate testing 70% 70%
  • Marketing Automation Strategy – Process, procedure, retention and engagement 85% 85%
  • Market Positioning / Shaping – Encapsulation of the value proposition and offer 95% 95%
  • Research & Analysis – Benchmarking, GAP and SWOT 80% 80%
  • Analytics / Measurement Strategy – Arribution, validation, fraud detection 70% 70%
  • Distribution and Channels Strategy – Partnerships, distributors, channels 90% 90%
  • Funnel Design and Configuration – Modeling, financial modeling, switch models 80% 80%
  • Direct Sales Strategy – Demand creation, presentations and scale 90% 90%
  • Business Experience – Commercial 70% Agency 30% 90% 90%
  • Pricing Strategy – Price engineering, yield management and LCV 90% 90%
  • Statistical Analysis & Financial Modelling – What is working and not 95% 95%
  • Design & Branding Strategy – Core message, purpose, values, delivery 65% 65%
  • Project Management & Planning – Resources, budgets and delivery 80% 80%
  • Written & Verbal Communications Skills – Building consensus, documentation 95% 95%

How do you
become a
digital strategist?

Digital Strategy As A Career

There are lots of career paths that can put you in a digital strategist role if you can come to the table with a relevant degree that’s great but not always required.

It is widely suggest that you seek one to two years of experience in two or three of the disciplines and get as much exposure as you possibly can across the other fields of digital marketing and communication.

Get some agency and corporate experience, and stay fresh and up to date.

Avoid getting stuck in a rut. Avoid working where you are not learning anything new; there is always something to be learning.

Get Hired

We are always on the lookout for top talent digital strategists able to bring more than 15 years experience to the table that want to work on incredibly rewarding projects. If you do not have a digital strategist on your team you can contact us for help.

Digital Strategists RevOps Accountability



Business Review

Understanding your business circumstances and your competitive environment.

Revenue Modelling

Developing the financial model to map margins and revenues to customers and effort.


Goal Identification

Setting out clear concise goals, targets and KPI’s supporting sales & marketing teams.


SEO Strategy

Define how you will increase your organic traffic and protect your brand position.

Social Strategy

What social media platforms you need to be on and how you need to engage with them for the best results.

E-Commerce Strategy

E-commerce strategy to reach the greatest number of targeted buyers.

Funnel Modeling

Developing your online sales funnel model to ensure it can scale with purchased traffic.

Advertising Strategy

Scale up your existing sales by tapping into different traffic sources.

Customer personas

Help you develop customer personas based on your past data and business goals.

Campaign Strategy

Define the campaign strategy to successfully engage your target customers.

Process Automation

Mapping out core marketing and sales processes and automating processes as required.


Help you implement Google Analytics, Tag Manager and other tracking tools .

KPI Development

Identify relevant measurements and KPI’s to measure your success.

Email Marketing

Define your e-mail marketing systems and email content strategy.

Online Channels

Developing sales channels and partnerships to sell your products and services.

Affiliate Marketing

Promote your products and services via global affiliate networks and only pay on results.


Referral Marketing

Use your customer referrals and reviews to generate more business with higher conversion rates.

CRM Strategy

Help you define your data model, CRM strategy and integration requirements for marketing automation.


Process Development

Build processes that foster continuous improvement for your sales and marketing team.

Team Engagement

Engage your team to force multiply your sales and marketing efforts.

Data Insights

Deliver the insight required to build continuous improvement and close the loop.

Who Benefits From Effective RevOps?


Head Of Revenue

Lead your market, blow your sales targets.


Gain a competitive advantage and increase stakeholder value.

Venture Capitalists

Expand a portfolio business and accelerate IIR.


Build a digital sales machine that delivers repeatable revenue.

The Self Employed

Increase your small business online revenues.

Marketing Managers

Increase market share on the same budget.

Bloggers & Influencers

Grow your online revenues by effectivly monetising your content.

Mergers & Aquisitions

Sales and marketing alignment for maximum IIR.

E-commerce Managers

Scale your business with paid traffic and multi-channel e-commerce.

Improve Site Speed in 2021

Improve Site Speed in 2021

Improve Site Speed

Revenue On Demand
For Upstarts and Disruptives

How to Improve Your Site Speed Quickly

Improving site speed is something everyone can do reasonably quickly.

The examples I have used here are for WordPress, however, there are widely available solutions for the most popular content management systems.

No two sites are the same, however, in general, you can expect to lose as much as 10% of your site conversions with every second it takes your page to load.

Keep customers waiting much more than 4-5 seconds for your site to load, and you have probably blown it.

In our experience conversion rates often drop off a cliff after 4 seconds of waiting for a site to clunk through a loading process.

It sucks.

Luckily there are quick and easy ways to resolve most of the typical speed issues faced by most sites.

These quick fixes will improve load times, improve the user experience and generally increase your sales conversion rate.

If you are a blogger then site speed improvements will help you to increase your engagement and affiliate revenue.

1) Implement Lossy Compression

Big images slow down your sites loading speed, reduce the file size where possible.

If you use WordPress, then there are lots of Lossy Image Compressor plugins that will reduce the file size without degrading the images.

We use Short Pixel, re-Smush it is also a pretty good plugin for image compression.

Re-Smush also supports a wide variety of e-commerce and content management systems.

Re-Smush is free but in our tests, Short Pixel delivered the best results.

Although Short Pixel is paid the price is negligible, you can image optimise a whole image-heavy site with 10K images for $10.00

2) Minify Your CSS

Use a CSS minify plugin that strips the excess and unnecessary CSS code from your pages without impacting the design.

We use a service called Criticalcss as well, just to add the extra speed boost.

It also only $2 a month. So if you are selling in volume it generally pays for itself within the first few hours after it is switched on.

3) Implement G-Zip

Reduce file sizing with Gzipping to reduce your HTTP response time.

Gzip reduces the size of the HTTP response and helps to reduce response time.

It’s an easy way to reduce page weight.

You can enable it by adding the following code from GNU – Get the GZIP Code: or check out Gzip plugins on WordPress.

4) Implement Lazy Loading

Lazy loading will load your images in your visitor’s browser as they scroll down the page. This reduces the initial loading speed and improves the user experience.

5) Use Google Tag Manager

Google tag manager is a great way to use your data intelligently and also set yourself up for success.

Use it to prioritise what tracking codes fire and when, which can impact load time and improve user experience. Create an account here.

Response time Vs Conversions

6) Use a Serious Hosting Provider

The processing and memory power you dedicate to your website hosting will need to increase in line with the increase in website visitors.

Lots of companies try to scale only to find out they were losing half of their paid traffic to a shitty WebHost.

We recommend A2 Hosting for small business clients using WordPress or another CMS, and something like Amazon or Google Hosting for companies that are quickly scaling their transaction rate.

Make sure the host switches on Keep Alive, this will help you to reduce latency. If your host does know what Keep-Alive is, then we suggest you change host.

If you are a pure e-commerce play online, we would recommend that you use Shopify. Shopify looks after all of the hosting and scaling environment for you and comes with some pre-conversion rate optimised templates all done for you.

7) Fix Broken Internal & External Links

Make sure you fix all of your broken links up – redirects. Shoddy connections reduce the user experience.

Broken image links can seriously drag your site speed down.

If you are on WordPress, a simple link broken checker will help you identify and remove these.

8) Use Caching

If you are using WordPress install a caching plugin – we use Comet Cache, there are plenty of solutions around.

9) Use A CDN

A Content Distribution Network (CDN) distributes content over multiple geographic servers and helps speed up the end-user experience. We use CloudFare as its the standard available on most hosting providers, MAX CDN is also pretty good.

10) Use Site Speed Analysis Tools

You can, of course, delve much more significantly into your site speed and improving it and become as scientific as you wish.

Tools such as can help immensely in getting a hit list together to improve your site performance. –

Google Page speed insights will also give you a good overview of the actions you can take to speed up your site.

As you scale operations, tools such as DataDog can help take your performance to another level.

Don’t Obsess About Speed * but do

If you are a small business as long as you use your common sense then there is no need to obsess about site speed.

A monthly report as part of your usual key performance indicators is enough.

As long as your page is loading its session (even if not in full if you are using lazy load) in reasonable time on a reasonably slow internet connection then you should be good to go.

If however your website’s first visit takes more than 3-5 seconds for a user to load your landing page then expect to say goodbye to a lot of your quality traffic due to page bounces.

Sales Conversion Rates – What they are and why they matter

Sales Conversion Rates – What they are and why they matter

WizzWang your business with

Revenue On Demand

For Upstarts And Disruptives


If you are working in a digital marketing team, it is highly likely that you will already be reporting your e-commerce conversion rate.

E-commerce conversion rate improvement should generally be part of your crucial key performance indicators if you are serious about selling online in any volume.

When I find clients that do not measure conversion rates, it is often because the team does not have a good understanding of how vital their conversion rate is to the growth and scalability of their business.

Conversion rate improvement should be part of your typical day to day grind if you are selling online.

If you are running a small e-commerce store, or affiliate site, small hotel or other small online business on your own then you probably feel that it is one more thing you have to do.

Another administrative burden you have to carry.

I do hear that quite a lot, in consultations with small business clients especially.

A quick example of how improving their conversion rate can impact their earnings is often all that is needed to convince clients that Conversion Rate Optimisation its high on the priority list.

Why is Conversion Rate Important

Assuming that you have a source of quality web traffic in place for your e-commerce online store lets dive into the basics of e-commerce conversion.

We will cover:

  • Why is the conversion rate when selling online so important?
  • How it can help you increase your sales fast with minimal effort
  • When it can help you scale your business and how

I am going to use one of my RevOps consulting clients as an example.

Except in real life he doesn’t sell shoes and his name is not Bob – but the business situation and the numbers I have used are somewhat similar.

Bobs Shoes – A Conversion Rate Impact Example

Let’s look at a very simplified example of an online shoe store, ” Bobs Shoe Store.”

Bob’s store sells handmade shoes online and ships them globally.

He sells a pair of shoes for around $100 bucks.

Cobbler Bob makes his shoes at the cost of $50 bucks a pair and has gross margins after his production and labour costs are around $50 per pair.

Conversions require traffic

To bring customers to his store, Bob advertises on the keyword – “Fine Shoes” on Google.

Bob can only afford to spend $500 on advertising each month.

For each customer that Google advertising drives to the Bobs shoe website, Bob pays 10 cents to Google.

Google sends Bob 5000 potential customers per month for a total cost of $500.00 every month.

With 5000 customers that click into Bob’s online shoe shop, he sells an average of 50 pairs of shoes.

His conversion rate – the % number of visitors to his online shop that becomes shoe buyers is just 1% of the total number of people that visit his shop.

How to calculate the sales conversion rate

To calculate your conversion rate, you divide the number of Conversions (e-commerce sales or goals) by the total number of people that visited your online store X (multiply) by 100.

If you made 72 sales last week and 872 visitors visited your store (72/872) = 0.0825 x 100 = 8.25 This is the conversion rate in per cent. 8.25%

Your sales / divided by your visitors x 100 = Sales Conversion Rate

It is the total number of buyers compared to the total number of visitors in a percentage terms.

Bob’s monthly sales of 50 pairs of shoes generate him the following revenue.

50 shoe sales X $50 profit = $2500.00 a month.

After he pays his Google advertising bill of $500, leaving him with a $2,000 a month profit.

In one year, Bob will earn $24,000.00 net profit. ($2,000 a month x 12 months = $24,000)

As Bob can only afford $500 a month, his challenge is how can he increase the number of shoe sales without increasing his advertising spend.

Sales Conversion Rate Description

How to increase sales without spending more on advertising or time on SEO

How can Bob sell more shoes without forking out more greenbacks to Google for more potential customer traffic?

The simple answer is to CONVERT or sell a higher percentage of visitors to his online store into loyal Bob’s Shoes customers.

Small conversion rate changes can have a considerable impact.

Let’s say that Bob improves his conversion rate by 10% – so now for the same $500 a month Google advertising spend.

Bob gets the same 5000 website visitors a month but manages to sell 55 pairs of shoes instead of his usual 50.

His conversion rate is still low at only 1.1 per cent, but Bob has sold 55 pairs of shoes.

55 multiplied by a $50 gross profit per shoes and Bob earns $2250.00 a month after his ad spend.

A $27,000 a year net income. Compared to $24,000.00 – he has a $3000.00 in gross profit improvement with such a small increase in Sales Conversion Rate.

What happens if over a few weeks Bob could tinker with his website and online store to improve his conversion rates?

Even whilst he still only spends $500 a month on advertising.

The impact of a conversion rate optimisation project

$24,000.00 per year – What Bob was earning before

Day 1) Bob implements an exit-intent popup conversion rate jumps to 1.1%. Bobs profit is now $27,000 per year.

Day 2) Bob improves the speed of his website, conversion rate jumps to 1.3%. Bob’s profit is $31,200 per year.

Day 5) Bob finishes implementing a simple CRM improving conversion rates to 2%. Bobs profit is now $48,000 per year

Day 15) Bob develops a memorable brand name for his online store his conversion rates jumps 3%. Bobs profit is now a dizzy $72,000 per year.

Day 25) Bob improves his customer service and reputation his repeat visitors drive his conversion rate to 4%. Bobs profit is now $96,000 per year.

In just under a months worth of work, Bob took his annual earnings from $24,000 per year to $96,000 a year.

All without spending a penny on more advertising.

It is easy to see how by continually chipping away at improving his online store conversion rate and by keeping his budget at a stable $500 how his business improves.

Here is a sample graph of Bobs earnings by conversion rate.


Conversion Rate Example

How Conversion Rate Can Impact your growth

Now instead of keeping a fixed budget of $500.00 per month, let us say that old Bob decided to spend 20% of his gross profits back into acquiring more traffic to his online store.

For simplicity, we will say that Bob still spends on good quality traffic and keeps getting people searching for shoes on his site.

Let’s have a look at his accumulated annual earnings and the impact of applying that extra revenue he has earned.

By improving his conversion rate and using the extra profit to help scale his advertising and the number of people now visiting his online store, Bob gets some chunky results.

With the extra money spent on more traffic at a 1.3% conversion rate, Bob earns 42,900 per year compared to $31,200 he makes without investing his additional profits back into advertising.

At 2% Bob is earning a whopping – 108K a year profit / compared to his measly $48K without increasing his ad budget as his revenue increased.

Wow at 3% Bob is a high roller – he is pulling in over 1/4 of a million a year.

Crazy that at 4%, Bob is close to half a million, at 5% conversion rate and still investing his 20% of revenues into quality traffic Bob crosses the 700K line.

Conversion Rate Graph

Benefits of conversion rate optimisation projects

It is bananas the number of people I run into that have excellent products, great ethical and responsible businesses that do absolutely no conversion rate optimisation at all.

As a result, like Bob, they end up earning 24,000

Not the half a million they would have cleared, only if they had managed to execute a respectable conversion rate and invested the benefits.

By increasing your conversion rate, you can improve your sales volume and therefore, fund the advertising budget required to scale your business.

One thing I often see even in existing successful online entrepreneurs is that they spend a considerable amount of their time and money buying traffic without paying attention to conversion rate optimisation.

As a result, when they resolve their 10-year-old conversion rate problem, it is common for them to experience some severe lamenting on the vast amount of cash flow they had left on the table.

Especially during the times when they were struggling to make ends meet.

Offline and Online Application of Sales Conversion Rate

The same principles apply to offline conversion.

If Bob has a physical shoe store and he can train his sales team to sell three times more shoes every day of the week, of course, his profits are going to increase.

It stands to reason that if he invests those profits made by the superhero salespeople into more advertising that gets more people into his shop to meet his fabulous sales team, of course, he will make more money.

What is a good conversion rate?

A reasonable conversion rate is one that works for you based on the business objectives you are trying to achieve.

At the low end, 1% is acceptable, for companies like gift companies a 4-5% conversion rate is fair.

Conversion rates vary widely – based on industry, product category, device, traffic source, content quality, goal structure and many other factors.

Bob’s shoes is an incredibly simple example to help newbies get to grips with why it is essential to have your eye on your conversion rates as you scale your e-commerce business.

Online Sales Funnel Conversion Rates

If you are selling predominantly by using an online sales funnel – then there is often some confusion as to at what stage of the funnel you should spend your time first.

Again this will vary based on where you are in your business and what your goals are.

If money is thin on the ground, you may want to focus on the closing process end of your funnel first. Increasing the sales conversion rate at the closing end of the funnel is likely to generate quick results.

If you are short on customers in general, you should put your focus into improving the conversion rate of getting customers into your funnel process.

If you are not under significant pressure for revenue and you are improving the process, then start by enhancing the funnel stage with the lowest conversion rates first.

More in your funnel = more sales.

How to Improve Sales Conversion Rates

Luckily – even if your conversion rate is lingering in the low depths of near-zero, there are lots of quick and easy ways to improve conversion rates without a lot of time and effort invested.


Kaizen Training – List of Kaizen Training Resources updated 2020

Kaizen Training – List of Kaizen Training Resources updated 2020

Kaizen Training

Global List of Kaizen Training resources

This list was built for our customers asking for recommendations for accredited Kaizen Training partners.

We are currently adding to this page, if you provide Kaizen Training, have the recommended accreditations and customer references we would be happy to list your company for a small admin fee.

Some of the following links may generate a small affiliate fee for us if you subsequently buy a product or service with no extra cost to you.


Free Online Kaizen Training Resources

The following companies will allow you to utilise a trial period to take a free Kaizen course online or offer a substantial amount of a course modules for free. If you are looking for just a quality basic understanding of Kaizen then our suggestion would be to use the videos on the Kaizen Institute and supplement with an online course that offers some basic level of certification.



Offers 3 free training courses when you sign up as a member for free. Check it out.

Kaizen Institute Online

Provides a host of preview training courses with licensing for commercial use. Check it out.

Powerpoint Training

Provided by the team at 5S Today, 42 free Kaizen training slides. Find out more

Gemba Academy

Available on Linkedin, you can use a free month’s trial of the service. Find out More

Shaw Academy

Great quality online courses, subscription-based, get four weeks for free. Shaw Academy

Powerpoint Training

Provided by the team at 5S Today, 42 free Kaizen training slides. Find out more

Online Kaizen Training Resources

Quality checked training resources for Kaizen with and without certification.


Recommended - The Knowledge Academy

Provides two-way online training with a facilitator in an online class and self-paced training, with UK certification. Costs just under £1000. Find out more….

Training Deals

A great site that offers lots of certifications, Lean Six Sigma Green Belt is under $600.00.
Learn More

Lean Six Sigma UK

Quality online certification for a reasonable cost with a quality UK based training company.
Find Out More

Perdue University USA

Quality Kaizen and Six Sigma certification training delivered online by Perdue. $$$
Find Out More


Acuity Institute

The Aucity institute in the USA provides online Kaizen Leadership Certification.
Find out more.


Shaw Academy

Quality online certification for a reasonable cost from top online training company.
Find Out More


MCI Online Training

Provides low-cost certification online for Kaizen Certified Facilitator.
Find Out More

Udemy Kaizen Training

Some good quality training courses at a low cost, most are lacking certification.
Find out more.

ASQ - Training Only

Global training company ASQ provides online training for driving value with Kaizen.
Find out more

Universal Course

Universal class provides Kaizen certification training online for under $100.00
Find out more..

Kaizen Training in Europe

Corporate Training providers with Kaizen offerings, courses and certification capability.


Global - Kaizen Institute

Provide great online training resources for individuals, run boot camps, and provide team-based Kaizen training in the United Kingdom. Find out more….

France - CNFCE

Provides a wide range of training programs in France including Kaizen, which ranges from €600 for a class to €1700 for a group. Find out more…

France - XL Formation

Run regular Kaizen courses in both Paris and Lyon, in house programs available. Find out more….

EU - Alfra Consulting

Accredited Kaizen training company operating in the UK, CZ, ES, RU, HU, MX. Find out more…

Europe - Noble Prog

A global list of Kaizen courses available online with easy search options. Find out more…

Six Sigma Europe

Provides European location courses and online courses with certification. Find out more…..

Kaizen Training in The Americas.


Six Sigma Canada

Provides certified and accredited professional training courses across Canada and corporate classes. Find out more….


Texas-based PDT provides a suite of Kaizen and Six Sigma training options in most US States. Find out more…

Quantum Associates

Chicago based, certified and accredited professional training courses across the USA. Find out more….

6Sigma USA

Quality on-site and digital certification training in Six Sigma and Kaizen. Find out more….

Seta Leadership Development Brazil

Provides Kaizen training courses in Brazil. Find out more…

E-Process Mexico

A training company that provides Kaizen courses in Mexico. Find out more…

Kaizen Training in The Middle East & Asia.


IKL - Dubai / Pakistan

Provide corporate Kaizen training in the Middle East and Pakistan. Find out more….

Kaizen Gulf

Provides a number of improvement training courses in the GCC. Find out more…

Kaizen UAE

Provides Kaizen training in Arabic based in Dubai. Find out more…

ISO India

ISO India provides training and certification across India and South Asia. Find out more….

Business Coach Philippines

Provides a huge range of courses in the Philippines, Kaizen is one of them. Find out more…

SGS Thailand

Provides Kaizen 5S training in Thailand, corporate and individual. Find out more…

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With solutions tailored to your custom requirements, we help you choose and implement the right technologies for effective sales and marketing execution.

We have a dedicated team of RevOps support specialists available 24×7 to help you.


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Time Management Strategy, working smart not hard in 2021.

Time Management Strategy, working smart not hard in 2021.

Time Management Strategy Working smart in 2021

We’ve heard it time and time before: work smarter, not harder.

But what does work smarter and not harder mean in practice, and how can you apply it in your day to day life. Especially when you consider the results of the last SHRM survey that found that life at work doesn’t always work that way for everyone.

38% of people feel overwhelmed at work

Most of us are all-too-familiar with the signs of being burnt out from working far too many hours: lethargy, indifference, exhaustion, and cynicism, it is common in many workplaces.

I saw one guy that got so stressed out that he threw his laptop across the office in a furious rage, only for it to shatter above the head of the CEO (true story), – if you have been in management, I am sure you will have your own stories to tell.

We all know that burnout and stress are not great.

Being Stuck in a Busy Rut

Often burnout is caused by being so busy cutting your way through the forest of work, that you get stuck in a busy rut, running around like a headless chicken, fighting fires all around you whilst the farm, unfortunately, burns to the ground.

I have learned to recognise the signs of burnout, it starts with me being cranky, and then getting frustrated then getting angry, it also results in my to-do list getting longer and longer whilst I get less done.

When I see those devilish traits rear their ugly heads, I stop doing and start thinking.

Working smarter typically requires you to see the big picture

By developing an internal switch that switches me from the action (doing, reading, working, calling) to merely thinking about an issue, it is easier to look at it in the context of the bigger picture.

Seeing the wood for the trees, or thinking outside of the box – call it what you want, if you can apply critical thinking to your workload it is easier to get a grip on what tasks are crucial and what is noise.

The good news is that humans are the most advanced monkeys on the planet, and almost all of us are capable of high levels of critical thinking with the simplest of training.

What are the 20% of your tasks that will have 80% of the impact you need?
What will move the needle on the key performance indicators?
How can I improve the process?

By spending more time thinking about how you will approach a specific complicated issues upfront, you can cut down the amount of time spent resolving them.

If I had taken the time to step back from my work, consider and apply critical thinking and solutions to the problems I would have saved so much time and been much more productive in my younger years.

People working super hard and pulling late nights can be great for team morale, but only if it yields a good result for the team.

If you do not end up getting the excellent result, lose a deal or don’t get your funding – then it sort of sucks.

Even if the extra hours turn up trumps, you often see productivity go down after an intense work period as your team crash face-first into recovery soon after pulling those all-nighters.

People are niggly, on edge, moody – all because of the extra hours they worked last week.

So what if we told you that it is true.

It is indeed not necessary to put in that extra time — that studies have shown these extra hours generally aren’t more productive?

To truly work smarter rather than harder, effective time management is the key to success.

There is a multitude of ways to improve your time management skills, from specific day-planning methods to coping with distractions that interrupt your workday.

Using a combination of various time management strategies and finding out what works best for you is the best way to find success in both your personal and work life.

Here is how to truly get your time management game on point.

Time Management tip #1 get some Training

This blog post should serve as an excellent resource for you to up your time management game, it’s packed with advice, but it is not training. The unequalled training expert in this field is Brian Tracy. His training isn’t cheap at close to $800. Still, it is worth the money if you can afford it. There are also some pretty good courses on Udemy for 1/10th of that cost at around $40-70, if not consider the audiobook – if you don’t have an Audible account, already you can download it for free with a 30-day trial.  

Why is Time Management Important

Time management skills can guide you to success in the workplace.

There are endless benefits to perfecting your time management, including accomplishing more with less effort, focusing on and ultimately accomplishing big-picture goals, improving decision-making skills, creating learning opportunities, and reducing overall stress.

People that have their time management game on point carry success around in their pockets.

How does time management improve your productivity?

When you focus on meaningful projects and tackle your most significant tasks first, you’re able to make room for more in your life.

When all of the big things are in order, you have more time to cultivate essential relationships, train employees, more free time, self-care time, more time to focus on passion projects, and so on.

Influential and effective leaders have found that managing their time not only eliminates stress and chaos from their lives, but it allows them to excel at the things they’re focusing on without distractions.

Creating competent time management skills can lead you to take control of your life both at work and even whilst working from home.

With the advent of COVID, 19 many became professional work from homers. Still, many have struggled to find the elusive work-life balance as work became all mixed up with the kids running around like mental gnomes when you have your big meeting and trying to hit mute as your dog barks at the delivery man.

Drastic changes in routine overnight were always going to be challenging to adjust to, and it has quite understandably sent things into a spin for many.

The Basic Yet Effective Time Management Techniques & Strategies

The concept of time management isn’t news for most people. We all know that we should be better about managing our time, and most of us could do a lot more to improve this aspect of our lives.

Let’s tackle this bit by bit and start by understanding the 4 Ds of time management.

Time Management tip #2 solve root cause problems first

Make sure you are solving root cause problems first and not simply firefighting the symptoms of a bigger problem.

An example of constant firefighting could be that you are always busy fixing mistakes caused by an employee that lacks training. The symptom is fixing her mistakes, the root cause is that she needs training. Spend the time training her up front and you will spend less time fixing her mistakes later.

Ok this is just an example, but you get the gist hopefully. Fix the problems that cause more problems first or you are going backwards.

If struggling to resolve day to day problems is preventing you from productive work then get familiar with Kaizen. Kaizen 改善 can help you to develop effective habits that foster step by step improvement.

A basic understanding of continuous improvement and root cause should not only help you identify which problems really need solving first and why.

There are lots of online courses, available at low cost and you can get a basic understanding of the concepts within an afternoon. Our team has pulled together a Kaizen training resource list for you.

What are the 4 Ds of time management?

The 4 D’s of time management are Delete, Delegate, Defer and Do.

When reviewing your to-do list and prioritising your responsibilities, go through the 4 D’s to determine how to handle each task.

First, decide if the task even needs to be accomplished — if not, Delete it from your list.

Delete spam from your email and block spammers so they can not steal any more of your time. Remove the clutter from your physical space and cancel the negative people in your life (this one’s not always possible, but consider it).

Next, learn to pass responsibilities along when necessary.

Delegation and knowing how to delegate effectively is one of the most critical skills a team leader can possess. Not only is it the best way to tackle projects and assignments efficiently, but it’s a way for everybody to utilise their skills and work as a team.

Defer: learn which tasks can be temporarily set aside in place of more pressing matters. Accomplishing your most important tasks first will also do wonders for your stress levels. If your job doesn’t fall under the first three Ds, then you likely must do it soon.

Be sure to figure out where each task belongs on your list of priorities — hopefully, this list is much smaller because of your ability to delete, delegate, and defer!

If you are at all shaky and struggling to define which tasks should be deleted, delegated, deferred, or done, then it’s handy to have a good understanding of Pareto’s Principle.


Pareto’s Principle: The 80/20 Rule

Pareto’s 80/20 Rule describes the imbalance of inputs and outputs; in general, 80% of your results are achieved from just 20% of actions.

This ratio, though not always precisely 80/20, can be used to reference virtually all efforts, both in business and people’s personal lives.

For example, in Italy, 80% of the land is owned by 20% of the people (one of Pareto’s first observations about this imbalance).

Additionally, this model is abundant in business and life in general. 20% of sales representatives generate 80% of total sales.

People wear just 20% of the clothes they own.

Smartphone users might have 20+ apps but spend most of their time on only four of them.

I represent only 20% of my family members, but I eat 80% of the cakes.

You get the picture.

One way to utilise this principle to improve your time management skills is to evaluate your workload and focus on the most important goals and tasks — the 20% that creates 80% of the results.

This strategy will help align your time with your objectives.

Armed with the knowledge of Pareto’s principle that you will generate 80% of your achievement from a measly 20% of your actions, you need to ask yourself which tasks are likely to deliver the most value.

You can then start to mentally sort your hitlist with an understanding of the Covey’s Time Management Grid — this is the same as the Eisenhower Matrix, we drill into why later.

The Covey Matrix: Covey’s Time Management Grid

  Stephen Covey created a four-quadrant matrix to help prioritize tasks based on their importance and urgency: Covy Time Management Quradrant If you categorise all of your responsibilities into this matrix, it can help clarify which tasks should be done immediately versus the ones that you must postpone without consequence. Quadrant 1 will have the most urgent and essential DO tasks, which you must address now. Quadrant 2 tasks are still important but don’t require immediate attention — your DEFER tasks. ** This section will generally be long term items. Quadrant 3 is your urgent, unimportant tasks that should you must DELEGATE. Quadrant 4 is the rest of your tasks. The remaining unimportant and non-urgent tasks will be in quadrant 4 and are probably in need of DELETION. When applying the Covey time management matrix to your professional (and even personal) life, most find that the majority of tasks lie in quadrants 1 (crying baby, kitchen fire) and 3 (interruptions, distractions and other). Quadrant 2 (exercise, vocation, planning) is potentially the most critical section, as these are tasks that must include long-term strategic planning, whilst quadrant four, you should consider deleting. If you find that all of your tasks are in quadrant 1 (ALL URGENT) and you have very few in quadrant 2 (IMPORTANT, NOT URGENT), this could mean you’re not dedicating enough time to planning out more significant projects and objectives in your life or at work. If you missed the link, you could get the full Covy training here.

The Eisenhower Matrix

The Eisenhower Matrix is the original Covey Matrix. As the former general of the US Army, Allied Forces Supreme Commander during World War II, NATO’s first supreme commander, and 34th President of the United States, Dwight D. Eisenhower had an immense amount of responsibility. To be clear, this is the guy that supervised the successful invasion of Normandy in 1944–45. When you are planning an invasion, the chips are pretty much down on the table. There is not much space for F’king up. To help with difficult decision-making and tasks, Eisenhower designed this matrix as a way of prioritising responsibilities. Used just the same as the Covey Matrix, the Eisenhower Matrix is also known as Urgent-Important Matrix. It divides your tasks between things you should Do first (1st quadrant), things you should Defer (2nd quadrant), things you should Delegate (3rd quadrant), and things you should Delete (4th quadrant). When used properly, the Eisenhower Matrix will increase your productivity. Not only will you eliminate unnecessary items from your to-do list, but you’ll highlight which of your tasks must get smashed through first. Completing these core responsibilities early on will alleviate stress for the rest of your day and give you a sense of accomplishment that will motivate you and also discourage you from procrastinating. If that still sounds a little stressful, then let’s look at how we can apply the Alpen Method at the start of your day to bring down your stress levels and put you in your happy place.  
The Eisenhower Matrix

Time Management tip #3 automate repetitive tasks

Time is your most precious and scarce resource, why would you waste it on doing the same manual reports or tasks. Make time to automate manual and repetitive processes, it will give you more productive time and will reduce stress as relevant information is presented at the touch of the button. Reports should be automated, systems should talk to each other, the majority of your day should be spent making decisions that will move the needle not copying over excel data. This is the sort of thing that our team at WizzWang can help you with.    

The ALPEN Method of Time Management

The ALPEN Method is a way to organise one’s day to maximise productivity and reduce unnecessary stress. This simple yet effective method should only take about 5 minutes the night before or at the start of your day.

It begins by writing down all tasks, both big and small; you must do on that day.

The next step is to estimate how long each task will realistically take, including buffer times (unplanned interruptions, plus a bit of leisure time throughout your day).

Next, make the schedule of which tasks you need to do first by utilising the Eisenhower/Covey Matrix to manage your time effectively. Benefits of this method include outlining deadlines and urgent tasks that you can accomplish first, setting realistic expectations for what you’ll be able to finish in your workday, and a decrease in stress because of the limits you’ve set for yourself. Be very wary of anyone bursting through the door with “urgent tasks” for you to do, because if everything is urgent, nothing is urgent.

Things should be essential and time-sensitive in a Zen Zebra office, in a whenever someone tells me that something is “urgent” my first response is to ask why exactly something is so critical quizzically. Typically when weighted against the bigger picture – the urgent things are not urgent at all.

I would go as to far as to say it is not the urgent things that everyone is screaming about that should exactly not be the focus of your attention.

It is those little things that no one is watching, the small issues that over time become a festering mess of problems that you will need to deal with later down the line that will always bit you on the ass. Whilst your teammates are running around the office like Bamboozled Baboon, you need to keep a keen eye out for the real issues that can ruin everyone’s workday.

The Mere-Urgency Effect

The Mere-Urgency Effect illustrates the decision between completing an unimportant, urgent task versus an important, non-urgent task and how most people tend to prioritise the former because of the “illusion of expiration”.

Just how an online retailer might urge people to purchase because there are only “2 left in stock!”, the Mere-Urgency Effect highlights how people often overemphasise the importance of urgent and immediate things that aren’t significant.

Buying something you don’t need because there are only a few left.

Something is urgent because a customer has requested it and not because it’s critical for the customer.

In the workplace, this might look like somebody prioritising a last-minute request from a coworker over doing important work on a long term project. If you find yourself in this position often, the Covey/Eisenhower Matrix is an effective way to organise your priorities.

If you ever see those people darting around the office on all of the busy little things, whilst not being able to clear down the chunky lumps of work that save the bacon that is the 80% that is going to deliver 20% of your results. Always obsessing on the small things without considering the big picture or what goals you are trying to achieve.

These people are the Bamboozled Baboons.

Not you. You are the ultimate Zen Zebra time management warrior.

You can also explain and demonstrate this ridiculous behaviour in practice with a humble pickle jar if you ever catch them in the act.

The Pickle Jar Theory

Imagine an empty pickle jar — this is your day. Now, this may sound like hippy sh*t to the untrained reader, but it certainly works.

First, you should focus on the most important things, or fill your jar with as many large rocks as possible. These are your Do tasks.

Then, you can pour in smaller rocks, which are your less important Defer tasks.

Then, add sand between the cracks in your jar (your Delegation tasks) and lastly, pour in some water (your Delete tasks) to fill any other available space. It’s important to note that if you start with water or sand, you won’t have room for all of your large rocks.

Or if you get bogged down with the delete or delegate tasks, you won’t have time to deliver on the big things that create real value. In business, this will often show up as poor performance against KPIs.

The most important tasks must come first for you to have space in your life for the little things. If you focus on all of the little things, you will find it hard to get things done.

Understanding Urgent vs Important

Urgent tasks are those that demand immediate attention and important tasks are those that lead to people achieving their goals.



Essential tasks contribute to one’s long-term mission and values. Urgent tasks are often last-minute, so the time constraint makes them feel more significant and necessary than they are.

While some tasks can be both urgent and vital, most don’t have overlap. By identifying whether or not a charge is urgent and or important, we can categorise them on the Eisenhower Matrix to determine which tasks to complete first and which tasks can be left undone or delegated.

When you have a good working practice, you can further optimise your time by using the Pomodoro Method.

The Pomodoro Method

The Pomodoro Technique is another time management system to help plan one’s day. Break up your workday into 25-minute sections (or “pomodoros”), separated by 5-minute breaks.

After around four pomodoros, you earn a more extended break of 15-20 minutes. Setting 25-minute time limits to your tasks will create a sense of urgency, which often results in far less wasted time.

These mandatory short breaks will also help break up your work, so you don’t get burnt out and gives you a designated amount of time to scroll through social media or call a friend.

I use a Chrome plugin as a pomodoro counter from Focus To Do that I flick on and off to plough through my tasks.

Measuring Your Time

I measure the amount of time I spend on everything for two reasons, firstly I get an idea of what tasks are easy to whack through and can be delegated in future.

Secondly, because if I can spot work that is mainly driven by a bunch of manual and lengthy but unnecessary processes, I can focus my time on automating the crap out of them with Zapier or by developing custom API’s to plug functions together.

By working out where you time goes, exactly how much it costs and who is struggling you can sharpen your time allocation and quickly reduce time wasted.

We use a product called Harvest for measuring all of the time we spend on a project or service delivery. When you look back past the data, (they have excellent reporting) it is easy to see how and who is productive in your organisation. For example that a task that I may have allocated to John takes him twice the time it takes Mandy, the next time that mission comes around I will get Mandy to sit down and show John exactly how she does the task in half the time it takes his lazy ass.

Pomodoro method of time management


Time tracking for people that need to understand where their time goes.

Harvest makes it easy to track time and expenses, so you get access to critical data without driving yourself (or your team) crazy.


Why is it important to use your time effectively?

Everybody always says “time is money” — and they’re not wrong, even though they are not exactly right either.

However, before we dive down that rabbit hole; what you need to know is this.

Efficient time management creates a positive domino effect: when you manage your time well, you can accomplish more in less time, which results in a better work-life balance because you will have more free time and reduced stress, all of which leads to more opportunities and success at work.

More time results in better decision making — you’ll be able to think clearly without as much pressure, and you can consider all of your decisions more thoroughly.

Your team will be looking up to you as their role model for being “on point” as their leader. If you clearly could not organise the proverbial piss up in a brewery, then this will become evident in unclear goals, miscommunication and confusion for your team.

That means more complexity, all the way up until HR calls you up to tell you that you are crap at your job and need to pack your desk.

Psychologist Abraham Maslow emphasised the importance of aligning our tasks and responsibilities with our human needs. He created Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs, which is a five-tier model that depicts the basic human needs that must be met from the bottom up.

First, we have basic physiological needs that consist of food, water, shelter, and other requirements for human survival. All tiers above are virtually irrelevant until this first tier is out of the way. Employes are not ready to be at work if they have not been fed, watered had slept in a bed.

Next are safety and security, followed by psychological needs: friends, intimate relationships, and a general feeling of belongingness.

Above this are esteem needs, which include a sense of accomplishment and fulfilment.

At the very top is self-actualisation or achieving one’s full potential.

Maslow argued that the bottom four tiers (food & shelter, safety, security, and society) must be satisfied in order to reach self-actualisation truly or to be the best version of yourself.

While this hierarchy may vary from person to person, Maslow’s conclusion that humans are motivated by these basic needs remains.

This information can be used in the workplace to effectively motivate employees by understanding their skills and encouraging them to produce the best possible work.

Not only does this generate a positive and supportive work environment, but it creates a place for employees to thrive and succeed.

Important: If your employees do not feel safe, if they are hungry, unengaged, or fearing for their jobs, you are likely to get inferior performance from them. This inner insecurity can often set off a sense of panic, often observed as procrastination because they feel so insecure in their work that they procrastinate about a decision for fear of getting it wrong.

Even when getting it wrong is often an important part of learning.


Maslow's hierarchy of needs

How to spot procrastination in your team

Identifying procrastination is the first step in eliminating this bad habit from your life. Signs of procrastination include feeling overwhelmed, having a difficult time concentrating, having a lack of or unclear goals, becoming easily bored, making excuses, fear of failure, and having a negative attitude. Depending on how long you have let procrastination linger around in your team, will define how much of a steaming sh*t pile of problems you will face later. Procrastination is against everything right in the world. Procrastination is often a symptom of the root cause of having enough data or information to make the decision or being forced to make a decision that you are not sure how to make. Procrastination is telling you that you are missing information or motivation in making a decision. Importantly people generally procrastinate about the least impactful stuff. If you are procrastinating, ask yourself if this is an important task first and foremost. Because often people will procrastinate about the ridiculous stuff whilst important tasks are cast asunder. You will surely know where I am coming have ever seen the whole company get embroiled in deciding if the blog font should be Ariel 28 or Poppins 17 type fonts, on the last day of the quarter at a software company. Focus on the important stuff – stop trying to perfect the agenda items where is not going to matter. People can worry a lot about shit that is not that important. Make sure they are engaged in impactful work.

How to stop procrastinating yourself

The first step in preventing procrastination is getting organized. Once you lay out everything you need to accomplish, you’ll have a better grasp on what your day will look like so you won’t be as overwhelmed. Create a to-do list, set achievable and realistic goals, and minimize your task list by determining what you need to strike off of it (use the Eisenhower/Covey Matrix for this) Be sure to take breaks, so you don’t burn out (perhaps employ the Pomodoro Method and the ALPEN Method) and remove as many distractions as possible. Social media and office chatter are probably the biggest culprits, so do what you need to do to eliminate the things that sidetrack you (turn your phone off, use headphones, etc.). Getting sidetracked by coworkers at the office, a sick child, or a flat tire, life often presents us with problems and distractions that we can’t avoid. For the ones, we can avoid, do your best to eliminate interruptions by creating a workspace that allows you to work efficiently (maybe work from home when possible or go to a cafe). Another challenge is a lack of organization, both physically and mentally. Clear the clutter from your desk (and life), and get into the process of making your bed in the morning, and you’ll see how much this can reduce stress. To regulate your work, use organizational apps and programs, a planner or diary, and a calendar (digital or physical). The most successful people reduce complexity and keep their routines consistent and straightforward.

Time Management tip #4 Get organised

It is genuinely mind-boggling the amount of time we all waste merely looking for things.

Keep all of your critical work information organised and try to centralise information as much as possible.

If you have a customer-centric model then ensure you have CRM from the get-go, if you sign a lot of documents then use something like Hello Sign to organise sign electronically. If your business works with a lot of documents using Office 365 or Google Suite so you can work on documents, spreadsheets and presentations collaboratively at the same time rather than sending revisions backwards and forwards.

Use a standard document naming format and filing system so you can find information quickly rather than spending hours searching for your documents.

Actively look for opportunities to simplify your work processes and automate where possible, it will pay dividends when scaling your business.

How do I manage too many tasks if I am overwhelmed?

If you find yourself with far too many tasks that you are unable to complete in time, be sure to eliminate what you can. This might mean removing tasks or delegating to somebody else. When your to-do list gets overwhelming, this is the time to employ the Eisenhower/Covey Matrix. Decide which tasks are the most important for you to complete and then schedule, delete or delegate the rest. This will reduce stress, which will make the tasks you assign for yourself a lot easier to manage. If you still have too many tasks then it is likely that you are under-resourced or are lacking some of the key skills within your team required to move the business forward.

What are the signs of poor time management?

Poor time management isn’t always easy to pinpoint. You might think you’re just busy, overworked, indecisive, or a perfectionist.

Signs of poor time management include ambiguous goals, procrastination, lack of energy, subpar performance, impatience, poor punctuality, and rushing.

These are the people in your office that are always busy, but achieving very little.

How do you manage a large workload?

You can manage a large workload using a combination of the techniques and methods mentioned already. The most important part is analyzing your tasks and determining which ones to do first and which ones you don’t need to do at all.

By focusing on the bigger picture, you’ll remove a lot of noise and disorder from your life.

Once you’ve identified the main tasks you need to do for the day, you can plan out your day — write your to-do list, schedule breaks, and create personal deadlines. All of this should be done without distractions so you don’t procrastinate.


Time Management tip #5 USE TASK Management software

When you are allocating work or managing a task over several people, you can improve visibility and accountability for assignments.

If you are working in a team of any more than one person to get things done, then we highly suggest you use a simple task allocation software.

Tools like or Wrike for larger teams > 5 or simple product management cards like Trello for small groups can save a lot of time and discussion in the office.

If everyone can see on a screen that a project is pending because droopy Malcolm is all over the f**king place, you find that these types of issues get resolved much quicker.

What are the challenges of time management, and how do you cope with them?

The biggest challenge of time management is that you have too many tasks to complete. Overcome this by utilising the 4 D’s of time management: Delete, Delegate, Defer and Do and if that doesn’t work to ease the problem, you need to consider if you are under-resourced or if your strategy needs updating. For those still with a seemingly endless list, be sure to prioritise your most important tasks first. Another typical challenge is interruptions. Whether it’s from getting sidetracked by coworkers at the office, a sick child, or a flat tire, life often presents us with problems and distractions that we can’t avoid. For the ones, we can avoid, do your best to eliminate interruptions by creating a workspace that allows you to work efficiently (maybe work from home when possible or go to a cafe). Another obstacle is a lack of organisation, both physically and mentally. Clear the clutter from your desk (and life), and get into the process of making your bed in the morning, and you’ll see how much this can reduce stress. To regulate your work, use organisational apps and programs, a planner or diary, and a calendar (digital or physical) but don’t go overboard. The most successful people reduce complexity and keep their routines consistent and straightforward.

What are the common time management mistakes?

One time management mistake that many people make is saying “yes” to everything. Don’t be afraid to decline more work if you don’t think you’ll be able to complete it in time (while also keeping your sanity) — saying no is better than letting people down because you took on too much work. Another snafu is not taking any breaks. Even just five minutes will help you to decompress and recharge, allowing you to be more productive afterwards. It may stop you throwing a laptop across a room.

Develop Advanced Time Management Skills Quickly

All of the above information covers what we would consider being the basics of time management. You can learn techniques in your planning like forward-thinking using root cause projections, impact projections, probable risk scenario planning – all of which will hone your skills as a leader. There are also some quick buttons that you can press that will help you with your day to day organisation online. If you would like to speak to me about helping you get organised at work, then I am available for coaching sessions via, and I will even provide the first session free.

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